COVID-19: Information on measures upon arrival in France

Public health measures are applicable to all travellers leaving or entering France. Moreover, restrictions on access to French territory are in place, depending on travellers’ country of departure.

Entry to metropolitan France

To enter metropolitan France, you must fill in and carry with you two documents:

  • The exempted movement certificate for metropolitan France, which can be downloaded from the Ministry of the Interior website (in French and English). You must present this certificate to travel companies before using your travel ticket, as well as to border control authorities (for travel by air, sea and land, including by rail);
  • A sworn declaration that you do not have COVID-19 symptoms (included in the same document).

Documents authorizing a stay in France which would have expired between 16 March 2020 and 15 June 2020 have been extended for six months.

Travellers may be required to respect a quarantine or placement in isolation upon arrival if:

  • They show symptoms of COVID-19 upon arrival in France;
  • They fail to show the results of a diagnostic virology test carried out less than 72 hours before flying which does not conclude that they are infected with SARS-CoV-2;
  • They arrive from Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, La Réunion, Mayotte, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Martin, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Wallis and Futuna, French Polynesia, New Caledonia, the French Southern and Antarctic Territories or Clipperton.

Travellers are asked to show civic responsibility and to follow the health precautions recommended by the authorities.

Countries for which there are no restrictions on arrivals

Individuals arriving from the European space (EU Member States, Andorra, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, San Marino, United Kingdom, the Holy See and Switzerland) or Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia or Uruguay will no longer be subject to restrictions on the grounds of preventing risks linked to the COVID-19 epidemic when entering metropolitan France.

This list will be updated regularly, at least every two weeks, in liaison with our European partners, taking account of the recommendations of the Council of the European Union, developments in the public health situation and the principle of reciprocity.

Countries for which entry restrictions apply

Passengers are required to present to their airline, before boarding, a sworn declaration that they do not have symptoms of COVID-19 and that, to their knowledge, they have not been in contact with a confirmed case of COVID-19 in the two weeks prior to the flight. They must wear a face mask.

Moreover, travellers are encouraged to undergo a diagnostic virology test prior to departure, the result of which should be negative. Travellers failing to do so will, upon arrival, be given information on the conditions for a voluntary two-week quarantine in the residence of their choice or, where appropriate, in a suitable accommodation facility. They will be informed of the possibilities for testing at the airport and in France.

From 1 August 2020, air passengers arriving from certain countries must produce the results of a diagnostic virology test (a PCR test for example), which does not conclude that they are infected with SARS-CoV-2. By decree, the presentation of such a document:

  • Is compulsory upon boarding, for individuals aged 11 or over travelling to metropolitan France from Bahrain, the United Arab Emirates, the United States, or Panama;
  • Will be required for entry to France for individuals aged 11 or over arriving from Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, India, Israel, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Madagascar, Maldives, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Oman, the Palestinian Territories, Peru, Qatar, Serbia, South Africa and Turkey.
    Travellers failing to provide such a document will be taken to a health check point at the airport for a test to be carried out. Given these provisions, individuals aged 11 or over travelling from one of these countries are strongly recommended to carry out this diagnostic virology test locally, if they can, at most 72 hours before the flight.

More information (in French) on the website of the French Ministry of the Interior.

Entry to French overseas territories

Health checks upon entry into the French overseas territories are adapted for each territory.

More information on the website of the French Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs.

Last updated on: 20 August 2020